## Acknowledgments

I would like to express my sincere regards to several individuals who in one way or another contributed and provided their valuable assistance in the preparation and completion of this work. First of all, my highest gratitude to my supervisor **Prof. S. Mukherjee**, for his inspiring guidance and generous support for completing this work successfully and for providing the necessary facilities. I am highly obliged to him for encouraging me to work hard as well as to refine my path for research.

I would like to thank **The Dean, Faculty of Science** and **The Head, Department of Physics**, The Maharaja Sayajirao University of Baroda, Vadodara, Gujarat-390002, INDIA, for providing all the necessary facilities to carry out the present work. I would also like to thank **Department of Atomic Energy-Board of Studies in Nuclear Sciences (DAE-BRNS)** for sanctioning the project (**Sanction Number: 36(6)/14/22/2016-BRNS**) and to provide the funding during the course of the present work.

I sincerely thank Dr B.K. Nayak, Head, Nuclear Physics Division, BARC, Dr H. Naik, Radiochemistry Division, BARC, Dr. S.V. Suryanarayanan, Nuclear Physics Division, BARC, Prof. N.L. Singh, and Dr R. Makwana, for mentoring me throughout the course of the present work, providing suggestions, their valuable time and to motivate me time to time which encouraged me a lot to purse the present work. I would like to thank The Director, Tata Institute of Fundamental Research (TIFR) and Prof. V. Nanal, and the staff of the Pelletron accelerator, TIFR and FOTIA accelerator, BARC for providing me the necessary support during the beam-times to perform the experiments related to present work.

I would like to give my sincere thanks to my colleague and friends Mr. Jaimin Acharya, Mr. Bhargav Soni, Ms. Vibha Vansola, Mr. Mayur Mehta, Mr. Ratan Kumar, Mr. R. Sattigheri, Ms. Shipra Bhatt for their encouragement, fruitful discussions and for being supportive. A special thanks to Ms. Y.S. Sheela and Mr. Abhay Pratap Singh for their help regarding data analysis. I am also thankful to Dr. S.C. Sharma, Dr. A. Shanbhag, Mr. Taraknath for their valuable support and time during the experiment at TIFR.

I also like to thank my seniors and friends Dr. Harish Kumar, Mr. Sunil Dutt, Ms. Sakshi Saxena, Mr. C.P. Yadav, Mr. Chetan Verma, Mr. Abhay V. Agrawal, Dr. Nimesh Patel, Mr. Chaitanya Limberkar for their moral and whole heartedly support.

I must express my very profound gratitude to my parents, Shri. Suneet Chandra Sharma & Smt. Gargi Sharma and to my brother, Mr. Harsh Parashari for providing me with unfailing support and continuous encouragement throughout my years of study and through the process of researching and writing this thesis and my life in general. I am very proud to have a father like him who has ever treated me like a friend and always fulfilled my needs besides all the odds. I can not thank my mother in words for her care, love and happiness she gives me. She is the joy of my life. I'll never be able to repay the unconditional love and the support they have provided for every single decision I have ever taken in my life. A very special thanks to Ms. Preeti Rajput for her constant support, motivation and her faith towards me to carry out this work.

Finally, I am thankful to all those who wished and boosted me up every time, Without their advice, blessings and encouragement. This accomplishment would not have been possible without them.

Thank you!	
	Siddharth Parashari