ACKNOWLEDGEMENTS

The author expresses his gratefulness to Prof. R.V. Karanth for his continuous guidance and constant encouragement.

He is grateful to Prof. P.P. Patel, Head of the Geology Department, M.S. University of Baroda for extending departmental facilities and for discussion. Prof. Nikhil Desai, the present Head of the Department, is thanked for making me available all the necessary things needed at the final stages of this work.

The author is thankful to Geological Survey of India for permitting him to carry out research work in at The Maharaja Sayajirao University of Baroda.

The author is grateful to Prof S.J Desai, Ex. Head, Department of Geology, for his fruitful suggestion and modification of the manuscript. Dr. Manas Roychoudhury and Dr.Dipayan Guha of Geological Survey of India and Dr. Sanjoy Sanyal of Jadavpur University have immensely helped the author by fruitful discussion on structural and metamorphic problems of the study area. Special thanks go to Dr. Alok Porwal for the analysis of geophysical data, Dr.N.C Pant for EPMA study and Dr.Neptune Srimal for isotopic analysis.

The author would like to express deep sense of appreciation towards Drs. Manoj Limaye, Parag Sohoni, George Mathew, B.K.Sahu, Bhavani Singh, Shri. Mahendrasinh Gadhavi and C.P Mistry who extended time-to-time help as and when required.

Last but not the least the author expresses his gratefulness towards his parents, wife and kids who had sacrificed their valuable time for this work.