ACKNOWLEDGEMENTS

I wish to express my indebtedness and deep sense of gratitude to Dr. (Mrs) K.A. Bhagwat, Department of Botany, The M.S. University of Baroda, Baroda, for making the present research endeavour possible. Her guidance and creative criticism enriched the quality of scientific and methodological components and I extend my sincere gratitude to her for introducing me into the interesting field of study.

Greatful acknowledgement is also made to Professor

Atul R.Mehta, as the Head, Department of Botany for

providing adequate Laboratory facilities and as the

Co-ordinator, UGC DRS Programme, for encouraging and guiding throughout the course of study.

I acknowledge the advice and help of Professor

S.D. Sabnis, Professor R.P. Bhatt and other members of the

Department of Botany, Baroda. Special acknowledgement is

due to Professor K. Udaiyan, Department of Botany, Govt. Arts

College, Udhagamandalam, Tamil Nadu. His advice and counsel

are deeply appreciated. I am also grateful to Professor

M.Mehr, Head, Department of Geology, Dr.S.J. Desai, Reader

in Geology, Professor Y.K.Agarwal, Head, Department of

Pharmacy and Mr.Y.M. Munshi of Gujarat Engineering Research

Institute for allowing me to use their laboratory facility.

I am deeply indebted to my colleague M. Anbazhagan for his support and help without which, this work never have been completed. I am grateful to my junior colleague Miss Sandhya R. Gore for her co-operation during the course of this study. Thanks are due to Messrs. A. Selvapandiyan, K. Rajarathinum, V. Ganesan, J. Subramani, M. Nataraj and D. Gokak for their timely help and encouragement.

I wish to express my profound sense of gratitude to my parents and brothers who have been a constant source of inspiration and encouragement.

Grateful acknowledgement is made to University Grants
Commission, New Delhi, through the DRS programme for providing
Research Fellowship during the entire course of this work
and also to ISRO, DOS for providing the necessary research
supplies during the last year of the study.

R. Krishnamurthy