APPENDIX - II

The districts which were at first granted to the Gaekwad and subsequently withdrawn by the Peshwa on the ground that the first partition was unfairly madein his favour were:

| Name of the Pargana | Swaraj | Moghulai | ${	t T}$ otal |
|-------------------------------------------------------------------------------------------------------------------------------------------------------------------------------------------------------------------------------------------------------------------------------------------------------------------------------------------------------------------------------------------------------------------------------------------------------------------------------------------------------------------------------------------------------------------------------------------------------------------------------------------------------------------------------------------------------------------------------------------------------------------------------------------------------------------------------------------------------------------------------------------------------------------------------------------------------------------------------------------------------------------------------------------------------------------------------------------------------------------------------------------------------------------------------------------------------------------------------------------------------------------------------------------------------------------------------------------------------------------------------------------------------------------------------------------------------------------------------------------------------------------------------------------------------------------------------------------------------------------------------------------------------------------------------------------------------------------------------------------------------------------------------------------------------------------------------------------------------------------------------------------------------------------------------------------------------------------------------------------------------------------------------------------------------------------------------------------------------------------------------|-----------------|----------|---------------|
| annual recommendation and the second term and | Rs. | Rs. | Rs. |
| Teladi | 66,500 | 6,000 | 72,500 |
| Maroli | 40,000 | 2,500 | 42,500 |
| Gatha | 50,000 | 9,000 | 59,000 |
| Bisanpur | 12,000 | - | 12,000 |
| M oha | 36 , 000 | 5,000 | 41,000 |
| Vaghora | 25,000 | _ | 25,000 |

These districts were generally described as being worth Rs. 2,54,000 and not as was made out in that note, Rs. 2,52,000. This discrepancy cannot be explained.

A memo in the handwriting of Peshwa Raghunathrao signed by Balaji Bajirao mentions them as "districts of my share to be taken from the Gaekwad." It might be that the Gaekwad bestowed them on Raghunathrao on condition that all future conquests should be made by the Gaekwad for his own exclusive benefit. When these districts were annexed by the Peshwa, it might be probable that the banefit to accrue from the original cession was disallowed. As mentioned in the text, these districts were restored to the sons of Damaji on condition of their paying Rs. 2,54,000 more tribute every year.

When the six mahals were returned to the Gaekwad by the Peshwa, the latter retained Satara-gong and the three villages of Dabhoi, Pasre and Omran, for Darbar Kharch.