ACKNOWLEDGEMENTS

I wish to express my sincere and deep gratitude to Dr. B.V. KAMATH, Reader, Department of Chemistry, M.S. University of Baroda for his guidance and encouragement throughout the course of this investigation.

I deem it a pleasure to place on record my sincere thanks to the management, Indian Petrochemicals Corporation Limited (IPCL), Baroda and especially, Dr.I.S. Bharadwaj, Director, Research Centre, for granting me permission to carry out a part of my research work in the Research Centre. I am indebted to Dr.T.S.R. Prasada Rao, Deputy General Manager (R&D) and Dr.K.R. Krishnamurthy, Manager (R&D), Catalysis Division of IPCL for their keen interest, useful suggestions and constant encouragement without which it would not have been possible to complete this work.

I am also grateful to Dr. S. Rajagopal and Dr. K. Seshan (formerly of R&D, IPCL) for introducing me to the area of catalysis in general and to the subject matter of the thesis in particular. I am thankful to Dr. D. Rajeshwar, Dr. D.T. Gokak and Dr. S. Unnikrishnan, scientists at Research Centre of IPCL for their cooperation and timely help. My special thanks are due to Dr. V.K. Kaushik for ESCA, Dr. A.G. Basrur for kinetic data analysis and Dr. K.V. Rao for XRD and SEM.

I am thankful to Prof. P.K. Bhattacharya, Coordinator,
Departmental Special Assistance (UGC) and Prof. A.C. Shah, Head,
Department of Chemistry for providing necessary facilities.

The financial assistance from the University Grants Commission under the Departmental Research Support programme is also gratefully acknowledged.

I wish to thank all my friends and colleagues for their cooperation and encouragement.